The winner of the game is the player who makes the next to last mistake.


The first organized chess activities started in 1930s in Turkey. In 1938 Ankara Chess Association and in 1943 İstanbul Chess Association(İSD) are founded. İSD is the oldest chess institution continuing to its activities. Turkey Chess Federation founded in 1954 has organized its first activities in İSD’s local. Turkey’s membership to FIDE is realized in 1962.


In 1962, Turkey has  firstly attended to Chess Olympics organized in Bulgaria. İlhan Onat and Nevzat Süer became the first international chess masters of Turkey in 1975. In 1986 Turhan Yılmaz and in 1988 Suat Atalık became the successors of Onat and Süer. 


In 1991, Chess Federation is associated with Directorate of Youth and Sports and received the support of the government. The first chairman of the federation was Kahraman Olgaç and at Olgaç’s term chess broke through its limited frame and met with masses.


Suat Atalık became the first Grand Master of Turkey. In 2000 Chess Olympics has been held in Istanbul. At the elections carried out in the same year Ali Nihat Yazıcı and his team has taken over the federation. In this year so many international chess organizations was held in Turkey.


From 2005, chess became an optional subject in the schools with the protocol signed with Ministry of National Education. In the same year, Türkiye İş Bankası became the sponsor  of the chess federation.


In 2006 in the European Women’s Individual Chess Championship held in Kuşadası, Ekatarince Atalık became the champion of the organization. In 2006 and 2007 Kübra Atalık became the European Champion at under sixteen category. In 2009, Kıvanç Haznedaroğlu became the second Grand Master of Turkey. 23 years old Barış Esen became the third Grand Master  of Turkey in 2010. In the same year, 20 year old Emre Can recieved the title of being the youngest Grant Master of Turkey.